I Wendy- I Wanda- I wonder…

Standard

#reverb10
reflect on this year and manifest what’s next

Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

This one is a little too hippie-dippy-trippy for me.

Wonder: (n.) O.E. wundor “marvelous thing, marvel, the object of astonishment,” from P.Gmc. *wundran (cf. O.S. wundar, M.Du., Du. wonder, O.H.G. wuntar, Ger. wunder, O.N. undr), of unknown origin. In M.E. it also came to mean the emotion associated with such a sight (late 13c.). The verb is from O.E. wundrian. Used colloquially in Pennsylvania German areas in some transitive senses (It wonders me that … for “I wonder why …”); this was common in M.E. and as late as Tindale (1533), and a correspondent reports the usage also yet survives in Yorkshire/Lincolnshire. Related: Wondered, wondering, wonders.

Wonder: The feeling excited by something strange; a mixture of surprise, curiosity, and sometimes awe.

Wonder. Definition: Amazement. Synonyms: admiration, astonishment, awe, bewilderment, concern, confusion, consternation, curiosity, doubt, fascination, fear, incredulity, jar, jolt, marveling, perplexity, perturbation, puzzlement, reverence, shock, skepticism, start, stupefaction, stupor, surprise, suspicion, uncertainty, wondering, wonderment.

Cultivating a sense of wonder sounds artificial to me. I’ve been enjoying looking up the etymology and definitions of words lately, though. I didn’t realize, or had forgotten, that wonder is not necessarily a positive thing. Well over half of the above synonyms have a negative connotation. Yet, I venture to say that today’s #reverb10 prompt was intended to be used in a positive context.

How did you cultivate a sense of confusion, doubt, fear, skepticism, and suspicion in your life this year? Now we’re talking. I think it’s healthy for everybody to cultivate some skepticism and doubt in order to look at your culture’s accepted “facts” with a discerning eye. Cultivating confusion, doubt, fear, and suspicion, maybe not so much.

One response

  1. Pingback: At the core « Beezelbarb