Oh, to be a morning person, bounding out of bed, smile plastered ear to ear

Standard

#reverb10
reflect on this year and manifest what’s next

Achieve. What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today.

This prompt is a hard one. There are many small things that I want, and no one thing sticks out the most. Two things did pop into my mind though; one is a secret, one I can share.

Regarding the secret achievement: I’m already working on it, and it will continue to take patience and a bit of luck. I would feel relieved on a number of levels, challenged, valued, respected, hopeful, and would be able to let go of pent-up guilt and resentment.

The second one would be to continue writing, get disciplined about it, and complete a story or two. Finally I would feel at home in my own skin, doing what I’ve always been meant to do. I would feel renewed, hopeful, and engaged.

10 11 things I can do or think to create these feelings sooner rather than later:

  1. Make writing a priority (from cathartic memoir angst to creative storytelling)
  2. To make writing a priority, do it first
  3. In order to do it first, get up earlier (oh, to be a morning person, bounding out of bed, smile plastered ear to ear)
  4. In order to get up earlier, go to bed earlier (farewell, night owl?)
  5. Make challenging myself a priority
  6. To make challenging myself a priority, schedule time for it
  7. In order to schedule time for personal and career challenges, cut out the non-essentials
  8. In order to cut out the non-essentials, decide what is essential
  9. Take care of my mental and physical health—start yoga again, keeping eating well, keep working out
  10. Structure each day to emphasize life and eliminate guilt
  11. Create daily opportunities for laughter and unexpected craziness
One response

  1. Pingback: At the core « Beezelbarb