Gimme Time

Standard

#reverb10

reflect on this year and manifest what’s next

Gift. This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable. What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year?

One thing I’ve had in abundance in 2010 is time. Time isn’t a gift that I chose, but one for which I am grateful. Since I’m not running the kids back and forth to the valley every other weekend like we did for 6 or so years (3 hours there, 3 hours back), they aren’t here to spend time with, and my husband prefers to spend a lot of time alone, I’ve been left to my own devices for the last year. As first I didn’t know what to do with myself. But soon, I realized how lucky I was to have breathing room again. This “extra” time has allowed me to run VegNet and related activities, start the radio show, make fitness a priority, do yoga, go mountain biking, have lunch or tea with friends, run leisurely errands, do major house maintenance, hang out with my Dad when he’s not doing the snow-bird thing, hang out with my animal friends, write, blog, read, and just be. Having had a taste of parenthood, I realize how precious this time is. Real parents don’t get breaks like this. Real parents don’t have time for themselves. I’m fortunate to have been given time. A bittersweet gift.


One response

  1. Pingback: At the core « Beezelbarb