Wait, so night owls are *not* lazy?

Standard

Goal progress: In bed by 10:30 p.m. Jan 5, Up at 6:25 a.m. Jan 6.

Got into bed earlier than the previous night, but wanted to watch a little Biggest Loser on Hulu, so didn’t sleep until after 11. We cancelled cable a few years ago, but lately we’ve been exceeding Bend Broadband’s annoying cable download cap, so I can’t watch much online for another week.

Still very hard to get up. I’m starting to feel tired and unproductive all day, and am looking forward to sleeping in on the weekend. I’m hoping that eventually my body will adjust enough to make this a little less painful.

I’m wondering, though, if a different approach might be better. Would it make sense to get up at twilight, or with the sun? This site will create a calendar for you of daily twilight times. Who knew there were three types of twilight (civil, nautical, and astronomical) and that twilight is not at the time of sunrise and sunset? According to this calendar, if I had gotten up at civil twilight today, it would have been at 7:17 a.m. Sunrise was at 7:51 a.m. (These are figures for Portland, OR.) Another chart I looked at (for Bend) listed sunrise at 7:40 a.m.

Or maybe I’m fighting an ultimately losing battle with my circadian rhythm. Here’s some food for thought: http://www.clay-collins.com/blog/healthy-wealthy-and-dead-5-reasons-why-getting-up-early-might-be-harmful.

I’ve really enjoyed the challenge of posting every day and will be continuing to participate in mindful52. I’m also adding The Daily Post challenge at WordPress, because, why not? (Although I may not be interested in following all the prompts.)

Comments are closed.