Skipbo and Tacos Veganos

Standard

This morning was rough, but I finally felt a little more alive this afternoon. Enough to get up and make some canned split pea soup for lunch and to play a game of Skipbo with the family. Then I had to lay down again.

This evening, though, I started craving tacos. And something cheesy. So I got up and made our now standard taco meal, along with a new creamy-cheesy sauce recipe. I haven’t posted a recipe in a while, so I thought I’d at least throw together an ingredients list here. {I also made these tacos for a potluck a month or so ago and they were a hit there as well.}

Tacos Veganos

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages Yves Meatless Ground Taco Stuffers. {These are pretty good, and I’ve been picking them up at Grocery Outlet for $1.99 or something like that, which seems like a great deal. You could make your own with TVP or something, but these are pretty easy and you can freeze extras until a day or so before you need them. Grocery Outlet, surprisingly, has a lot of vegan and organic stuff, including cruelty fee health and beauty items. Just grab a lot of it if you like it, because it probably won’t be there the next time you go.}
    • Note: When I made this for the potluck, I used one block of tempeh mixed in, to make it go further. It was good that way too. But because my family has decided they loathe tempeh, I didn’t attempt it tonight.
  • 1 can black beans {Ha! I snuck (sneaked, apparently, is proper but sounds wrong) these in, and nobody complained, even though they’re not big fans of beans.}
  • 1 cup frozen corn {last time I mixed in red bell peppers and that was good too, and had nice color. My hubby loathes bell peppers though, so we don’t have them around too often. Sense a theme here?}
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 T cumin
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 squirt of Braggs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • whatever green salad mix you have around
  • condiments on hand: jalapeños, green salsa, Franks hot sauce, etc.
  • cheesy sauce. {Tonight, I made a cheese sauce inspired by The Sexy Vegan’s Cashew Ricotta recipe, which calls for artichoke hearts and cashews. Since cashews are so expensive, I subbed out half of the cashews with sunflower seeds. It was yummy. Now I want to make a lasagna and use the rest of the sauce. For more recipes check out TheSexyVegan.com or pick up the cookbook. There’s another cheesy sauce we like, which is also very good for nachos. It’s a nutritional yeast based sauce call Chreese and is made by Road’s End Organics. It turns out very creamy if you make it in the Vitamix. Hey, we love Daiya, but it’s too expensive to use gobs of it for cheese sauce.}
  • crunchy corn taco shells

Comments are closed.