Solar eclipse viewing and naughty vegan donuts

Standard
Pinhole projection box for viewing eclipse

Pinhole Projection

We actually saw part of the solar eclipse today, even though it was super overcast—well, a shadow of the eclipse, anyway. I almost didn’t bother because I was busy working away on the show notes so I could get them done prior to tomorrow.

But I didn’t really want to miss at least trying to see the eclipse. So when the kids got home, we constructed a Pinhole Projection box. After several tweaks, it worked! We just waited for periods of lesser clouds (the sky was never totally clear). It may have been cooler to have the glasses or a filter so that we could have looked directly at the sun, but then we wouldn’t have gotten the chance to run around with a box on our heads. (Sadly, those pictures did not turn out very well. Also, I tried to simultaneously take a picture of the shadow inside the box and see the shadow with my head in the box, and, well, you can understand how that didn’t work either.)

Voodoo Doughnuts boxAlso, the kids brought home naughty vegan Voodoo Doughnuts for their Dad and me! They’re awesome (the kids and the donuts).

Voodoo Doughnut assortment

The center one is the cream-filled “Cock-N-Balls.”

2 responses

  1. I remember trying to make a box like that as a kid! So fun but I wasn’t successful. I also didn’t see the eclipse today…too cloudy. I’m thinking voodoo doughnuts would have helped me get over missing out :)

  2. Pingback: A little Lapsong Souchang while pondering the Venus transit « Beezelbarb