garden, collard wraps, worm compost bin, magic, yahtzee

Standard
My collard wraps

My collard wraps

Today I bought collard wrap ingredients purposefully very similar to Angeline’s. Here’s what went into them:

  • Collard leaves, blanched for 60 seconds or so {I might do them a little more next time as the stems were the tiniest bit too chewy for me at the big end. I gently patted them with kitchen towels to dry.}
  • Carrots, shredded in the Vitamix
  • Cashew cheese {Cashews simmered in salt water and soaked for about an hour total, then drained and blended with fresh water until very smooth in the Vitamix. I didn’t clean out the leftover carrots before making the cashew cream, which made the cashew cream a lovely buttery yellow color}
  • Purple cabbage, roughly chopped {Next time I would chop it a little finer to avoid chunks}
  • Spinach
  • Lots of avocado {1/2 an avocado per wrap}
  • Kalamata olives {I accidentally bought the pitted kind, so they took a while to pit, but they were worth it}
Overall, the collard wrap tasted very similar to the wraps I was trying to emulate. I did feel like it lacked a little something, so I ended up adding some vegan Worcestershire that I had mixed up a while back, and also some Dijon mustard. Those added just the kick it needed. 

 

Today I also:
  • got a bunch of new library books
  • bought a tomato plant to replace the one that froze
  • roped my hubby into helping me create the worm compost bin setup
    • meaning I watched while he drilled all the air and drainage holes in the plastic bin
    • I didn’t let a lack of worms stop me from starting to fill it with shredded paper and a week’s worth of kitchen scraps
  • played magic online and then Yahtzee (not online) with the hubs.
  • hung out with 7 pretty sweet animals
    • {it was a kid-free weekend}
Comments are closed.