Getting out of Dodge for 24 hours

Standard
Cornbread Cafe

The all-vegan Cornbread Cafe

I needed to get out of Dodge. Badly. So I took the opportunity Friday to drive the kids to meet their mom, and then drive on to Eugene to visit a friend. I drove a little further than normal to swap the kids at Sweet Home, and then another 45 miles or so to Eugene. I hadn’t been to Eugene for years, but a friend of mine lives there who has come to Bend a couple of times, so it seemed like time for me to take a visit. She graciously let me spend the night, so we’d have a little more time to hang out and so I didn’t have to drive back the same night.

.

The Eugenwich and Me

The Eugenwich and Me

The Eugenewich at Cornbread Cafe

The Eugenewich at Cornbread Cafe

It was fun. I got to eat at the all-vegan Cornbread Cafe, and meet and chat with the awesome owner and staff. {Our waitress was somebody I had met previously while in Portland for VegFest—so that was a nice surprise!} The food was so good. I’ll be doing a review for the show, so won’t go on about it too much here, but damn!, how can you go wrong with battered tofu and carrot bacon? (Try: the Eugenewich.)

We spent the rest of the evening watching a Rush concert video with my friend’s hubby (strange but true: I had never previously heard any of their songs—that I can remember, anyway). This morning we went to the Eugene farmer’s market, which is huge and has both craft and food sections. And also to the rose garden. And of course back to the Cornbread Cafe for some chocolate croissants to go.

I left around 1p in no rush, letting anyone pass me who felt the need. I ended up stopping for a while at both Belknap Hot Springs and Sahalie Falls. It was nice to get out, stretch, feel the warm sun, and enjoy the beautiful Mackenzie river. I was chided by a chipmunk at Belknap and given the wary eye by numerous boisterous Stellar’s Jays at Sahalie.

.

This evening back at home, after relaxing for a while with all the animals, I walked Pilot Butte. The sweetest bunny with the huge ears was out again, around the same spot that I saw him/her the last time. And tons of lbb’s.

Later, hubby and I had a great brainstorming session.

It was certainly a nice 24+ hours. I’m both beat and energized. I didn’t have a chance to go through all of my photos yet, but I may add some photos back into this post tomorrow or put them in tomorrow’s post. My friend also took some good ones that she’s promised to email me…