Anxious (adj.), getting organized for grad school

Standard

Anxiety producing day on a variety of levels.

anxious (adj.) Look up anxious at Dictionary.com1620s, from L. anxius “solicitous, uneasy, troubled in mind” (also “causing anxiety, troublesome”), from angere, anguere “choke, squeeze,” figuratively “torment, cause distress” (see anger(v.)). The same image is in Serbo-Croatian tjeskoba “anxiety,” lit. “tightness, narrowness.” Related: Anxiously; anxiousness.

But I did make a tiny bit of progress with the Humane Education grad program: I actually received a copy of the acceptance letter. And I’ve supposedly been registered for two courses. The instructors have sent me some materials and assignments. But I still have no student login. And no signed loan, thus no way to buy books. Although my local library has a surprising amount of the books for the Environmental Ethics course. Intro to Humane Ed, not so much.

After going to a new user group to check it out (Bend Web Marketing, SEO presentation), I spent the evening organizing the info I have so far for my coursework—getting a new Google calendar set up with just schoolwork deadlines, making an Amazon list of books that I need, reserving a bunch of books at the library. Setting up a few Evernote notebooks. I’m going to have to be extra organized to pull this off.

I think I’ll end up getting Kindle books for most of the required reading, unless electronic format is not available. In many cases, the Kindle book is slightly cheaper, but not always. I’m a little torn, because it’s sometimes nice to have a hard copy for portability, reading in the bath, lending, or just to have a tangible collection (like my aging collection of animal behavior, cognition, and nature books). But I think it will be worth it to have searchable books that I can read on multiple devices. What do you think?

Comments are closed.