Old-fashioned lentil loaf (with a kick)

Standard
Old-fashioned lentil loaf

Old-fashioned lentil loaf

Today is the day that I finally made a lentil loaf that was not too dry, and actually tastes good. The basic recipe is from Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s The Vegan Table. I’ve tried to make this recipe before, as well as various nut loaves, and they’ve always turned out too dry. This time, I made sure that my lentils didn’t cook down too much and had a little extra liquid, and took the loaf out promptly at 45-50 minutes. I added Sriracha hot chili sauce both in the loaf and drizzled on top, for a spicy kick. (I’ve also been having bad luck lately with lentil and split peas not cooking thoroughly in soups, so I made sure the lentils were cooked very well.)

By the way, you might enjoy Colleen’s “Compassionate Cooks” website and “Vegetarian Food For Thought” podcast.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups water, plus more for sautéing [I used a little olive oil]
  • 2 cups brown lentils, picked over and rinsed
  • 1 to 2 yellow onions, chopped [I only had ½ onion on hand]
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced [I used 2 cloves plus a shallot. I also chopped up and added a carrot, and a chunk of fresh ginger.]
  • ¾ cup ketchup, divided
  • ½ cup bread crumbs, italian-style or plain [I used an old partial loaf of dark rye]
  • ¼ cup finely chopped raw walnuts [I completely forgot the walnuts]
  • ½ cup finely chopped fresh parsley [I didn’t have any of this on hand]
  • 2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh thyme or 1 teaspoon dried thyme [I used the dried, I also added some tarragon]
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons tamari soy sauce (or to taste)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons vegetarian Worcestershire sauce (no anchovies) [I didn’t have any of this on hand, so I used a teaspoon of liquid smoke]
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper [I also salted]
  • [I chopped up and added a portobello mushroom]

I’m not going to copy all the directions in here, because I have NaNoWriMo to do, and can’t afford the time to do a lengthy blog post tonight. Mainly, cook the lentils till they are very done, then let sit. Saute the onions and garlic (plus anything extra like carrot, ginger, and mushroom). Combine everything, spread ketchup on top. Bake in a lightly oiled pan at 350° for 45 minutes.

Comments are closed.