Friendly perspective

Standard

#reverb10
reflect on this year and manifest what’s next

Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst?

I don’t make or keep friends very easily, even though I’d like to. Other than with animals, of course. I’m sure that I’m not alone in this.

But I have strengthened one unexpected friendship in the last year. We came together with a shared purpose and have spent a lot of time together dreaming, planning, organizing, and implementing our ideas. She’s someone I can laugh uncontrollably with and be silly with when we’re tired and trying to push through, someone who can tell me bluntly when she doesn’t like something or doesn’t agree with me (and accepts the same from me), someone who shares a lot of my tendencies and habits (we’re night owls, we tend to run late). Someone often on my wavelength, that will jump on a new idea with an enthusiasm only matched by my own.

I admire her because she’s been true to her convictions for 20+ years, she’s always ready to try something new, and she seems tireless. There’s a big age difference between us, but somehow that doesn’t matter. It took me a while to think of it this way: She’s a mother who lost a daughter, I’m a daughter who lost a mother (she’s close to the age my mom would have been). We could easily be surrogates for each other’s loss. We haven’t fallen into those roles, but it is nice to think that maybe this friendship is the tiniest little glimpse of what it would be like to have an adult relationship with my mom.

She has shown me that it’s possible to live a (somewhat) normal life while also advocating for compassion towards all animals, non-human and human alike. So, she kind of snuck up on me, but I’m glad to have her as part of my life. I hope someday that I’m able to express to her how much I appreciate her friendship.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: At the core « Beezelbarb

  2. Pingback: At the core « Beezelbarb