Stealing my soul

Standard

#reverb10
reflect on this year and manifest what’s next

Photo – a present to yourself. Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and […]

goat photo take soul

This could have been really fun. Except that there are few photos of me from the last year, and really not that many from the last 15 years. I’ve never liked my photo to be taken. It’s not that I think that photos will steal my soul, but just that they don’t turn out looking like how I picture myself (I realize this is not unique to me). But the practical reason for so few photos is that I’ve not made it a priority to carry around a camera. My hubby went through a phase where he was taking lots of pictures a few years ago, but those were mostly landscapes and night shots, not portraits. And since I don’t have kids, there’s just not a lot of gratuitous family photo taking. Sometimes I regret this. But mostly when I think that my children might not have any good photos of me from my twenties and thirties. But then I realize, what children? Does it really matter then?

What it comes down to is if I want pictures, I should take them for myself. If I don’t, I should stop feeling guilty about it and let it go.

One response

  1. Pingback: At the core « Beezelbarb