Taking the time to just be

Standard

First, Goal progress: In bed by 1 a.m. Jan 10, Up at 9 a.m. Jan 11. Oops, will not beat myself up over this – just have to make it to bed soon so as to not repeat tomorrow.
~

A Year of Mindfulness: 52 Weeks of Focus – Week 2

How can you simplify your life? How do you make it more difficult than it needs to be? How are you wasting time? What are you holding onto that is not serving you? Work with this concept during the next week to see what comes up for you. Meditate on simplicity.

In some ways, I find myself trying to add more things on this year, not less. I want this to be a year of saying yes more than I say no. There will be a balance there somewhere.

Some circumstances have simplified my life for me, though: for instance, work closed our local office, so now that my home office is my daily workspace, I no longer have to waste time or gas driving all the way across town. Because of this, I find myself running fewer errands, less often, because I consolidate them now. Why bother leaving the home office unless I have several destinations? Inertia is powerful.

I make my life more difficult than it needs to be by often filling my days with too much data. Some days I am overwhelmed with the information overload of the internet: all the blogs and bits and pieces of social media pointing me to a million interesting tidbits of knowledge. For the same reason, I’ll have 30 library books out at a time, because they all contain something I want to learn about; animal welfare, behavior, and cognition, activism, memory, social commentary, time management, twin studies, fictional worlds, science writing…

And I complicate my life when I try to over-engineer my day with too many lists and artificial deadlines. The more I cram into my day, the more I have a nagging feeling that something important is not getting done. Maybe that important something is taking the time to just be.

One response