Must…fill…every…silent…moment

Standard

First, goal progress: In bed by around midnight Jan 16, Up at 8 a.m. Jan 17.

~

A Year of Mindfulness: 52 Weeks of Focus – Week 3

As you continue your mindfulness practice this week, think about ways in which you ARE and ARE NOT disciplined.

Take a look at the goals and intentions you had in mind as you began this mindfulness practice. What intentions are happening for you? Which ones are getting left by the wayside? How are you wasting time? What distractions creep in that detract you from doing the things you really want to do . . . or need to do? What thoughts limit you from reaching your true potential? If you are a yogi, what gets in the way of regular asana practice? What drives you toward regular practice? How disciplined are you with listening to your body? What does it need? Do you listen? This is self discipline too. What of your mind? Does it run rampant with thought? Can you discipline yourself to a regular meditation practice to learn how to quiet it more regularly? How can you be mindful this week while working with the concept of self discipline?

Here’s how I resist: How can I quiet my mind when there is already so much to do, to learn, to catch up on? I’ve been in the habit of listening to podcasts at every spare moment: during exercise, walking the dogs, painting the house, getting ready for work, doing the dishes, feeding the animals. It’s gotten to the point where I’m uncomfortable doing these things without the iPod, as if I’m afraid of what pure silence might bring, or say. Or I’m afraid to lose this multi-tasking time. When else am I going to keep up with everything that’s going on in the vegan world, or with my workout guy, or Flylady? This month, I’m trying to take some time in the mornings to just be with my thoughts sans ear buds as I go about my morning routine, listening to whatever comes to mind. The animals are pretty quiet in the morning too, and hubby is not up yet, so we do our little rituals in mostly silence. It’s not easy, but also not as hard as I expected.

At the beginning of this month, I had started to meditate in the mornings. I was only committing to 10 minutes, because that seems like such an attainable goal. And the time does go by very quickly. But as I’ve lacked discipline with my getting to bed early habit, my mornings have suffered. Meditating and writing have been the casualties. So, I will continue to work on my sleep schedule, which means ending this post, maybe before I am ready to. Good night.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Electronics revenge « Beezelbarb