Barter with this salad: Mexican Fiesta Salad, with Zesty Lime-Agave Dressing

Standard

Mexican Fiesta Salad

Mexican Fiesta Salad

I was asked to donate a green salad for a workshop today, which was to include a vegetarian lunch. In return for the donation, I was able to attend the workshop, which seemed more than fair. Of course, I could never be satisfied with just bringing a boring green salad, so I spent too much time finding an interesting recipe and then shopping for the ingredients last night.

The workshop was full of insights into our stuff: wants versus needs, finding where we can pare back our spending, and examining what we really need to live a good life. And how to live in a self-sustaining way in any economy. Nothing earth shattering, but practical advice and reminders of what can be gained by simplifying. (Which is kind of ironic, since I couldn’t be satisfied just bringing a simple salad.) We also learned some techniques for sprouting beans, which I’m looking forward to trying.

This morning I got up, short on sleep, and put together this salad in the nick of time. It turned out great. In fact, tomorrow I plan to grab another avocado and make the same salad to eat at home.

I’ve had great success with other recipes from Healthy. Happy. Life. The photos are so damn fantastic, they make me want to try everything. Kathy tends to be very detailed with directions, so I’m just going to list the ingredients here and my subs, and let you get the good stuff from her blog. I hope someday soon she puts out a fabulous cookbook.

Mexican Fiesta Salad, with Zesty Lime-Agave Dressing

Salad Ingredients:

1 onion, diced [I used a red onion]
1 vine-ripened tomato, diced
4 corn tortillas, toasted in oven [I used my favorite tortilla chips instead]
1/4 cup sliced olives
1 avocado, diced
1 orange, diced
1/2 cup of chopped cilantro [I took Kathy’s tip and chopped both leaves and stems, which is much easier than trying to pick the leaves off, and which does give it a nice little crunch]
4 cups baby spinach [I used half baby spinach, half mixed greens, and a generous dose of baby arugula]
1 cup fresh or canned corn, unsalted [I used the empty black bean can to measure out frozen corn]
1 cup black beans
fresh black pepper grinder
garnish: fresh cilantro
Optional:1 tsp chipotle spice, 1 jalapeno, diced and de-seeded [I added a little smoked chipotle powder, and some jalapeños from a jar, plus some capers, because I love capers on just about everything]

Zesty Lime-Agave Dressing Ingredients:

1 juicy lime (or 2 less-juicy limes)
1 Tbsp agave syrup, dark grade
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
black pepper

Comments are closed.