I’m so confused it almost feels calm, or, I want to be a good person, but I’m not

Standard

Light Boxes

Read more about my Light Box month.

from Light Boxes, by Shane Jones

List Written by February and Carried in
February’s Corduroy Coast Pocket

  1. I am not a bad person. I have enjoyed June, July and August like everyone else.
  2. I fed you dandelions and picked the stems from your teeth with my tongue.
  3. You smell of honey and smoke. That’s what I call you. Girl who smells of honey and smoke. But you’re more than that. You’re a field of dandelions.
  4. I have this nightmare where I’m standing in the field of dandelions holding a scythe. The horizon is children marching. Each child holds one of your teeth.
  5. I’m so confused it almost feels calm.
  6. I am guilty of kidnapping children. I am guilty of Bianca and causing great pain to Thaddeus and Selah and the town.
  7. I want to be a good person, but I’m not.
Comments are closed.