Seeking contentment in a crappy week

Standard

A Year of Mindfulness: 52 Weeks of Focus  – Week 7

This week’s focus for our mindfulness practice is Contentment. Also known as Santosha in Sanskrit, it is one of the Niyamas (moral observances) in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. The goal is to try to find contentment in all things – good, bad and indifferent. Not necessarily an easy practice, but definitely a rewarding one.

I’m so glad this intensely disappointing week is over. I worked really hard to make something good happen, only to have it promised to me yesterday, then snatched away a few hours later.

I feel very defeated, even as I know that this feeling won’t last forever.

It’s hard to feel grateful for what we already have, when obsessed with trying to improve our situations, our careers, our comfort levels.

It’s hard to find the smallest bit of contentment, when worry and distraction are in control.

This weekend I will try to work on:
Finding contentment in this disheartening thing that has happened to me.

