Impatience. With Learning Patience.

Standard

A Year of Mindfulness: 52 Weeks of Focus  – Week 10

Why is it that one of the hardest practices to learn and practice is possibly the MOST rewarding? In a society of control and DO, we are conditioned to striving and control. Yet force often leaves us with a feeling of lack, even empty – and without the anticipated outcome.

Patience. What’s that? Certain aspects of my life have not been going my way lately. But I’ve worked hard to plant many seeds. Just because some of the seedlings looked promising early on, but were then stomped on by careless creatures, does not mean that all the seedlings will be destroyed or not sprout in their own time. How’s that for a trite gardening metaphor?

Patience. I feel less patient than I have for a long time. Tired. Resentful. Disappointed.

Patience. I remember often choosing patience as my focus for the day in yoga class way back when.

“All good things come to those who wait.”

I’m not sure this is true. Sometimes waiting too long means missed opportunities. Sometimes things change too much while you’re patiently or not so patiently waiting. Sometimes injustices happen while you stand idle.

Patience. I have little for myself right now. More for others, but still not enough.

Do you ever think to yourself? “I’m {fill in your age} years old, if I haven’t learned to {fill in any habit} by now, what is the point of even trying?”

Impatience. With learning patience.

Comments are closed.