What the hell is wrong with these split peas {or this recipe} {or me}?

Standard

Seriously, how come every time I try to make something with split peas, they take FOREVER to cook? The recipe I was trying to follow for this soup {Veggie Potpie Stew from Appetite for Reduction} said bring to a boil, boil for 5 minutes, then simmer and cook for 25 to 30 minutes. It has been a few HOURS and they are still not soft. WTF? Split peas are supposed to be easy. If I had known, I would have just thrown them in the crock pot and made something else for dinner. In fact, I think that’s what I’m going to do: I’m sure this will be a great soup tomorrow.

I got the yellow split peas from Whole Foods within the last few weeks, so I doubt they are super old or anything.

Is it my elevation {3500 feet}? Am I missing some bean cooking gene? Is it just bad luck? For the record, I’ve also had problems with some other beans—like black beans. But you’re not even supposed to soak split peas. So what gives?

4 responses

  1. Every time? You mean you’ve done it before? You would think you might have learned a lesson.

  2. You would think. 🙂 But I keep trying because it doesn’t make sense that they would take that long to cook. For the record, the crock pot soup/stew was great the next day.