What is it with 11-year-old boys?

Standard

What is it with 11-year-old boys? This 11-year-old boy can’t remember what I told him 60 seconds after I say it. He constantly forgets or just ignores basic picking up after himself and has to be reminded to do everything. He acts like he’s listening, but he just says yes to shut me up, I think. And when he forgets to do something and I ask him to do it again, or why he didn’t do what I asked him to do, he gives me THAT BLANK LOOK. I honestly don’t think he does remember most of what I’ve said. It’s like 90% of his brain is in outer space. He’s driving me crazy! All three step-kids are like that to some extent, but he’s been the worst, especially over the last month. Also, apparently I have been spared a hideous ordeal because I don’t have a very good sense of smell, but it seems according to the rest of the family that his feet stink to high heaven, no matter what pair of shoes he wears or how often he bathes.

Yet, this 11-year-old-boy is thoughtful enough to notice that somebody he met once (an adult) is sitting by themselves at a public dinner and then take his plate over to sit with them. He can’t tell a joke to save his life (and he’s been trying since he learned to talk), but he often has a bright and insightful comment about the oddest things. And he does math in his head quicker than me. He drives me nuts, but I wouldn’t trade him in.

I guess we’ve hit that point in the summer—only a few more weeks, we’re all tired of each other, and we just have to get through. I’ll breathe a big sigh of relief when they’re gone. And then immediately miss them.

One response