Sunday Brunch: Tofu Scramble, Citrus Collards with Raisins Redux, accompanied by “Banana Bread”

Standard
Sunday Brunch Scramble plus Orange Citrus Collard Greens

Sunday Brunch: Tofu Scramble, Citrus Collards with Raisins Redux, accompanied by “Banana Bread”

My go-to scramble is out of Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s The Vegan Table, although by now I pretty much just thow a bunch of ingredients together without worrying too much about a recipe. Once in a while I look at a new scramble recipe for ideas, but I usually just come back to this tried-and-true one for the basics.

I discovered collard greens a year or so ago and love their buttery flavor; I liked today’s sweet/tangy combination of citrus and balsamic with the raisins. And, of course, I couldn’t resist throwing some avocado on top of it all.

This banana bread was not my favorite. I’ve had a hard time with getting my bread to turn out over the last few weeks—I’m not sure if it’s a change in the weather, my distraction level, or what. I also just got a new baking stone, and I’m still learning to adjust to how that affects the oven. In this case, I made matters worse by setting the oven too high (I was thinking pizza, not bread) so the first loaf burned on the outside but was still gooey on the inside. The 2nd loaf from the same batch looks a lot better, but I won’t cut into it until tomorrow, and I sort of suspect that it’s underdone. Next time, I think I’d rather just make a simple no-yeast banana bread recipe. There’s one that looks good in Happy Herbivore.

Tofu Scramble
Adapted from
The Vegan Table

Ingredients:
– Canola oil, for sautéing
– 1 medium-size yellow onion
– 1.5 tsp minced garlic
– 2 packages extra-firm tofu {we like Trader Joe’s for the price}
– 1 tsp turmeric
– 2 tsps cumin
– 1 tsp paprika
– ½ tsp salt
– Freshly ground pepper
– 3-4 T nutritional yeast
{I normally add this, but we were out}


Citrus Collards with Raisins Redux
Adapted from Vegan Soul Kitchen

Ingredients:
– Course sea salt
– 2 large bunches collard greens, ribs removed, cut into a chiffonade, rinsed and drained
– 1 T extra-virgin olive oil {I used Canola}
– 2 cloves garlic, minced
– 2/3 cup raisins {we’ve been in love with Golden Raisins lately}
– 1/3 cup freshly squeezed orange juice {I used the juice of one smallish orange}
– Balsamic vinegar {I added a splash of this}


Banana Bread
Adapted from Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Ingredients:
– 4 cups white whole wheat flour
– 2½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
– 1 tsp ground cinnamon
– 1½ T granulated yeast
– 1 T kosher salt
– ¼ cup vital wheat gluten
– 1½ cups lukewarm water
– ½ cup neutral-flavored oil
– ½ cup honey {I used agave}
– 2 tsps pure vanilla extract
– 2 cups very ripe banana puree
– 2 cups walnut pieces (optional) {I omitted this step}
– Egg wash for brushing on top crust {I used plain water}
– Raw sugar for sprinkling on the top of the loaf {I omitted this step}

