Holding one in my hand is not the same as holding another, even though the words of the story are the same

Standard

I’ve been reading Fantasy and Science Fiction mag on the Kindle and enjoying it almost as much as when I used to get the hard copy. I do miss being able to flip through and pick a story that looks about the right length for the reading time I have—I can see the word count on the Kindle, but it’s not the same. Also, when I finish a story, the next one begins on the same page, which is distracting. I can get out of this screen by clicking back to the menu, but I wish I didn’t have to. I also miss being able to page through the mag from beginning to end. Plus I feel bummed that I don’t have the hard copy for my collection, even though it is just a collection and I never go back and read any of them.

And, there’s something intangible that is hard to describe. Things have a different feel, a unique impression, an aura maybe, depending on their association with other things in my mind, according to their color, their heft., their texture. Holding one in my hand is not the same as holding another, even though the words of the story are the same.

Am I trying to say that the medium is the message?

Comments are closed.