I have a screw loose and other culinary faux pas

Standard

So… I made this great crockpot soup to celebrate the first fall-ish weather, and knowing that my step-kids would be coming this weekend. I had a bowl of it for lunch {to test it out, and because it smelled so good} and then we all had it for dinner, along with a little French Toast that I made with a loaf of bread that was getting a bit dry {I learned this trick of using “stale” bread for French Toast in The 30-Day Vegan Challenge}.

We were eating away, when my oldest step-daughter suddenly found something in her soup. A screw! And another small piece of plastic or something. What the heck?! After some investigation, it was determined that it was from the crockpot lid, which had a broken hinge, and a spot for one screw. So at least we knew there wasn’t another one in there. Luckily, she was a good sport about it, only half-joking that I was trying to kill her. Sorry again, oldest step-daughter who not so secretly reads my blog once in a while. 🙂

If that had happened to me at a restaurant (and many similar things have happened to me over the course of my life, including, in Bend: a push pin in my food and a giant squared off piece of plastic in my curry) I would probably never go back. Unfortunately, my step-daughter doesn’t have that option. She made up for my culinary faux pas by baking us our new favorite chocolate cake recipe. I thought about hiring a taste tester for my piece, in case some retribution was in the works, but if was great and I’m fine (so far).

Anyway, at least I’m relatively packed and ready to go. Getting up at 5 a.m. with the intention of leaving for Portland VegFest at 6. Totally worth it, but, bleh.

