Red curry coconut soup warms me up on a drizzly fall day

Standard

Every now and then I crave curry coconut soup. I try to keep canned coconut milk on hand for just this reason.

Tonight, for a late dinner on a drizzly fall day, I threw together this soup:

Red Curry Coconut Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1 can veggie broth {use the same can to mix up the broth}
  • A few spare carrots or whatever veggies you have around, diced
  • ½ cup or so shredded green cabbage
  • 1 T Chiang Mai red curry powder, adjust according to how spicy you want it {Chiang Mai is a mixture of red chili powder, garlic, galangal root, lemon grass, and coriander powder. I’ve also used yellow or green curry in a similar recipe. I like the curry variety available at World Market—we don’t have an Asian store in Bend.}
  • 1 tsp Chili Garlic Sauce, adjust according to how spicy you want it
  • Tofu, diced {some days I just add it to the soup, today, I felt like lightly browning it in Earth Balance coconut spread first}
  • Smoked salt, to taste
  • Lemon pepper, to taste
  • Fresh-squeezed lemon, to taste

Directions:

Combine ingredients, bring to a boil. Reduce, simmer for about 15 minutes. If you don’t simmer it too long, the veggies will still be slightly crunchy.

Comments are closed.