Vegan Millet Scones

Standard
Vegan Millet Scones

So, I tried the scones again today. They turned out a lot better this time, however, they still were relatively flat and didn’t rise as much as I would have liked. The hub, (who, incidentally, didn’t think the last scones were as terrible as I did), liked these even more. Here’s the recipe as I adapted it from the original on the package.

{Side note: I had to futz around with my oven temperature this weekend—for whatever reason the oven is running 20-25 degrees high since the weather changed. This summer, when I got the oven thermometer, it was reporting that the oven was about accurate. Putting in the large baking stone has made a difference too.}

Vegan Millet Scones

Ingredients:

  • 1¼ cup white flour {last time I used mostly white whole wheat flour. I thought maybe that’s why they weren’t as fluffy, but as it didn’t seem to make a difference, I may sneak some back into the next batch}
  • 1 cup millet flour
  • 2 T millet
  • 3 T baking powder {if I increase this, will they be fluffier?}
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 3 T sugar
  • ½ cup canola oil
  • 4 flax eggs (4 T ground flax mixed with 4 T water)
  • ¼ cup soy yogurt {I had about ⅛ cup, but cleaned out the container and added water to make 1/4}

Directions

Preheat oven to 400° F. Grease a baking sheet.

Heat millet grains in a dry pan, stirring frequently, until they turn golden brown. Stir together flour, millet flour, baking powder, salt, soda and 2 tablespoons sugar until well blended. Add browned millet grains. In a separate container, mix oil, flax eggs, and soy yogurt until well blended. Stir wet mixture into flour mixture until well blended together.

Shape dough into a ball, adding flour as necessary. Flatten into a circle about 6-8″ in diameter. Cut into wedges with a knife dipped in flour. Brush on water and sprinkle with sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

Bake about 30 minutes.

Comments are closed.