It’s Time

Standard

A Year of Mindfulness: 52 Weeks of Focus – Week 25

Time. Time is an interesting concept. It is real in the sense that events happen before and after one another. We can look back in time to a certain age or a certain thing that happened. But in many ways time is relative to our concept of it, which may differ from person to person. … When I think of time, I get aggravated at the time I waste. I have so many things I have to do and want to do that I always want to make the best use of my time – but when it’s wasted, I attach to the anger I feel around that and that’s something I’m constantly working on. … The phrase, “time heals all wounds” comes to mind, but I wonder how much truth there is to it. I’m not sure I believe it. Time doesn’t heal all wounds – it only passes, and time is a construct that we’ve made in our own minds anyway. It doesn’t physically exist. What matters most is what we do with our minds. Perhaps a more useful quote is this . . .“Time heals what reason cannot.”  ~Unknown

I’m not sure that I believe time heals all wounds either. I think time just makes pain more bearable by scabbing and scarring over the wound. It may become less visible, even less painful. But the wound is still there, underneath, ready to be exposed; raw, vulnerable to further damage.

I wonder, often, how it is that we are able to endure the things we endure. It takes a certain amount of denial to get through every day. A turning off of empathy, of memory, of emotion. Otherwise, we’d all be crumpled up on the floor, overwhelmed, unable to function.

But time—it does fly—I’ll give you that one. Faster and faster. My perception can’t keep up with the reality of our clocks. I’m perpetually surprised at the chunks of time that just disappear. This seems to happen more and more as I age. We all feel this happening, right?

Radio lab has done some interesting shows about time.

One response

  1. Hi I’m Frances and I came to site by way of the NaBLoPoMo blogroll. Going Vegan is a big step, and I admire you for it. Most people think it’s another word for vegetarian. Do you know how many people have told me “I’m vegetarian – I only eat veggies and fish.”
    Time management is an issue for me; I know I am wasting too much watching TV – getting that DVR may not have been the wisest decision on my part.
    Hopefully I will get inspired by reading more of your posts.
    Waving at you from New York.