2011: Dichotomy, 2012: Confidence

Standard

#reverb11

One Word. Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?”

{Still bummed out that there is not one Reverb11 (it feels too scattered to look in multiple places and have to decide which to respond to), but yet grateful that several groups of people are putting such creative energy into prompts for the month. I guess I’ll start out with the Day 1 prompt from last year, which several of the new sites are using. Some of those picking up the torch: #reverb11, #weverb11#resound11#relish11.}

Reverb11

Dichotomy– division into two mutually exclusive, opposed, or contradictory groups: a dichotomy between thought and action.” Wikipedia. c.1600, from Gk. dichotomia ‘a cutting in half,’ from dicha ‘in two, asunder’ (related to dis ‘twice’) + temnein ‘to cut.’” Etymology.

This has been a year of extremes. A few things, professionally, have gone phenomenally badly. This was the year we got the kids back after a long and painful absence. And my uncompensated nonprofit work, i.e., radio show, etc., has been consuming, but very rewarding and by some markers, quite successful.

Confidence– This year I hope to learn to believe in myself again, in all areas of my life.

Reverb10

Resilience– …the property of a material to absorb energy when it is deformed elastically and then, upon unloading to have this energy recovered.” Wikipedia. 1620s, from L. resiliens, prp. of resilire ‘to rebound, recoil,’ from re- ‘back’ + salire ‘to jump, leap.’” Etymology.

I have been elastically deformed over and over this year, and yet, I’ve jumped back with more energy than ever.

Yes– I said yes to new opportunities that terrified me.

A comment on last year’s future word: I did say yes to many new opportunities in 2011. And I got kicked in the teeth pretty badly a few times. It sure was hard to get back up. Now I feel more cautious, which is a shame. Here’s to having the confidence to try again in 2012.

Comments are closed.