Reverb11, Resound11 – These things are useful: perseverance, frankness, critical thinking

Standard

#resound11

“Yesterday we got down and dirty and revealed our 2011 vices; today we’ll wipe the slate clean and talk about what personal virtues we discovered in 2011. What good have you done in 2011? Where do you really shine? What have you done that makes you proud of yourself? We know you’ve got it in you!

How will you resound?”

#reverb11 (via dontbeapicklebump.com/reverb/)

“Name someone in your life who has influenced you in a positive way this past year. How did they influence you? How did you pay it forward?

This year was tough professionally, and I’ve been pretty hard on myself. Thank the gods for my All Things Vegan radio show, and the non-profit VegNet things that I’ve been involved with and made happen. I’m proud of the way that we jumped right into to creating the radio show from scratch, with no broadcasting, interviewing, or technical experience at a radio station. I’ve been able to use my perseverance, frankness, critical thinking, and computer and social media skills to continuously improve the show, even having a little fun along the way. It’s been very fulfilling, confidence building, and meaningful, and I’ve loved interviewing and meeting such interesting and compassionate people from around the world!  It wouldn’t be the same without my friend Judy, who is just as dedicated as I am, and always comes at things from a slightly different angle, keeping things from getting stale. And we are slowing seeing the vegan community in Bend blossom, after years of hard work (a couple of years on my end, many more years on Judy’s end).

In other news, today I watched three movies. Three! Very unusual for me. I’m a little under the weather and only had the energy to snooze, catch up on some Netflix, and of course, make food (I’m rarely too sick to eat). Loved Visioneers. It had a Brazil-like feel to it and had me laughing out loud in several places. I’d tell you what those were, but I might spoil it for you. Oh no, now the Brazil theme song is in my head! I also watched two documentaries: Cave of Forgotten Dreams, a Werner Herzog film about the Chauvet caves of Southern France, and Enlighten Up!, about a yoga quest. I was only partially paying attention to Cave, but I did appreciate the beautiful imagery, which included the context of the surrounding remote landscape and the interior of the multi-chambered cave itself, the close-ups of the paintings (still photographs are not the same), and all the various archaeologists and other experts expounding on the meaning of the drawings. It had a fitting soundtrack as well. I found it interesting that there are deliberate painted hand prints in the cave and they were able to identify one person’s repeated prints by their crooked finger. Enlighten Up! was OK, but not quite what I was hoping for.

2 responses

  1. Thanks so much for the links to the picklebump site. I really aprreciate it. I like your answers to the prompts. Good and thoughtful 🙂

  2. Pingback: Just another night with the um’s, you-knows, likes, I means, and-uhs, awkward pauses, stuttering, mumbling, heavy breathing, and lip smacks « Beezelbarb