Just another night with the um’s, you-knows, likes, I means, and-uhs, awkward pauses, stuttering, mumbling, heavy breathing, and lip smacks

Standard

#reverb11#weverb11#resound11#relish11.

Well, this will be short and sweet tonight. None of today’s prompts really appeal to me. I can’t think of one thing I truly “relished” this year, I don’t have a favorite kind of play (pathetic), I didn’t have a favorite month in 2011 (none of them were all that hot), and I already blogged about my great partner in crime the other day.

Speaking of my co-host, we just spent another night editing out an amazing amount of um’s, you-knows, likes, I means, and-uhs, awkward pauses, stuttering, mumbling, heavy breathing, and lip smacks from yet another highly educated interviewee. Amazing how much people talk like that—it’s really noticeable when you record it and play it back. Our brains fill in so much and are so forgiving in everyday conversation.

One response

  1. Sorry that the prompt yesterday didn’t strike a chord. I find it funny that you mention Um and Ahs today. I’ve noticed today that there are a lot of people who aren’t good speakers at all for that very reason and it has caught my ear as well.