Potluck goodies and details on the spinach dip

Standard

Nice VegNet potluck tonight. We had a good crowd of mostly regulars, plus a few new people. It was our holiday potluck, so we also had a white elephant exchange (our family’s second this week) and a cookie exchange. The food was great, as usual. Highlights: some peach and pineapple syrupy dish that was almost a dessert—kind of like a cobbler without the bread. And vegan pecan pie. And the peanut brittle my step-daughter made. And the spinach dip and fresh homemade bread that I made (the bread was made from the master recipe, plus 1 tsp rosemary, 1 tsp 21 no-salt seasoning, and 1 tsp garlic salt, and was ripped into rough chunks). For the dip, I loosely followed this recipe (I’ve followed it before and liked it). Please visit Healthy Happy Life for the complete recipe, ingredients, directions, variations, and beautiful photographs, plus many other amazing recipes.

Vegan Spinach Dip.

Here’s my variation:

  • 16 oz. organic frozen spinach {partially thawed}
  • 3 cloves of garlic and/or 1 T garlic powder {we used 2 cloves garlic, because there was plenty of garlic in the aioli we added in later}
  • 1-2 T apple cider vinegar (or more lemon juice) {we used 2 T apple cider vinegar, as we had no lemon} 
  • 1 cup ‘quick-soaked’ raw cashews {It turned out fine with the ½ cup that we had} 
  • 2-3 T Nutritional Yeast Flakes {we used 3 T}
  • 1-2 T Vegenaise Spread or drizzle of EVOO (opt’l) {I think I ended up using about 3 T of the garlic aioli sauce my step-daughter had made for a get-together earlier in the week. I’ll have to ask her where she found the recipe. It was made of silken tofu and was extra garlicky.)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • Topping: Sprinkle of Vegan White Cheese (Daiya) {we used the bit of orange Daiya we had on hand} 
  • {1 tsp Frank’s Redhot Sauce}
  • {A few squirts of Bragg’s}
  • {Splash of almond milk, because it was slightly too thick}

I over-VitaMixed it, so it turned out smooth and creamy. The last time I made it, it was a little bit chunky, which was good too. Also, one time I made it with the suggested white beans and that was tasty as well.

Comments are closed.