Platitudinous

Standard

I’d like to believe that:

  • “Everything happens for a reason”
  • “I am right where I am supposed to be”
  • “We are only given as much as we can bear”
  • “Things always work out for the best”
  • “It was meant to be”
  • “Time heals all wounds”
  • “Worrying about it won’t solve anything”
  • Everything will be fine with a “good attitude”
  • I should “always look on the bright side”
  • I should “see the glass half full”
  • “These things too shall pass”

But, alas, I don’t believe these things.

Platitudes or acceptance? A good attitude or a realistic outlook? Fakey smiles or healthy cynicism? Which do you choose?

plat·i·tude   [plat-i-tood, -tyood]
noun
a flat, dull, or trite remark, especially one uttered as if it were fresh or profound.

platitude
1812, “dullness,” from Fr. platitude “flatness, vapidness” (late 17c.), from O.Fr. plat “flat” (see plate); formed on analogy of latitude, attitude, etc. Meaning “a flat, dull, or commonplace remark” is recorded from 1815. Related: Platitudinous.

What’s your favorite platitude? Who is your favorite platitudinous person?

Comments are closed.