Looking forward to experimenting with vegan Indian cuisine

Standard
The 30-Minute Vegan's Taste of the East

I just got another of Mark Reinfeld’s cookbooks out from the library on my Kindle: The 30-Minute Vegan’s Taste of the East: 150 Asian-Inspired Recipes. The first section covers Indian foods, and I’ve been wanting to learn to cook some Indian dishes because I love the flavors.

The recipes look very approachable so far, as they were in The 30-Minute Vegan. Things to try: The Tofu Tikka Masala and maybe the Dosa Bread (good for a weekend).

I wonder where I can get ingredients like asafetida, curry leaves, tamarind, and a good deal on red lentils (which always seem more expensive)? For the spices, probably not in Bend, as we’re lacking an Indian or Asian market. Online, if I plan ahead.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Phyllo plus curried potatoes = Samosas! « Beezelbarb

  2. I found asafetida at the new spice shop in the Old Mill. I didn’t look for curry leaves (and haven’t found them other places) but I wouldn’t be surprised if they had them too. I know I’ve seen tamarind around (I’m thinking both at Fred Meyer and at Colima, but I haven’t been to either in awhile.)

    Online works too, I just rarely plan ahead 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tips. After not finding Kala Namak at the spice shop right after they opened, (and they had never heard of it), I haven’t been back. But I’ll give them another shot. 🙂 I thought maybe I’d find some of these at World Market or Whole Foods, but no.