Whole Wheat Couscous Lentil Potato Combo

Standard

couscous lentil potato one-potOK, so the picture is not so great. But I made this dish today on the fly, and it turned out pretty good. The kids even liked it.

I had cooked some lentils earlier in the day to feed to the dogs, and I had a bunch left over. And the other day, I had picked up some Bob’s Red Mill Whole Wheat Pearl Couscous at a discount. Right away, I had thought that lentils would pair well with the couscous. When I went to put a meal together this evening, I thought,
What would help to make this dish a little heartier? And that’s when I decided on the potatoes and sweet potatoes. Here’s the rough list of ingredients and sketchy directions. {BTW, I chose the spices by adapting the Lentil-Coconut Curry recipe from Blissful Bites to the ingredients I had on hand}.

Whole Wheat Couscous Lentil Potato Combo

Ingredients:

  • Coconut oil (for sauteing)
  • 1 med onion, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • Spices: 1 T curry powder, 1 tsp coriander, 1 tsp turmeric, 2 T Braggs, salt
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • ½ cup dried coconut shreds
  • 1 cup dry brown lentils, cooked according to package directions
  • 2 cups dry couscous, cooked according to package directions
  • 2 Russet potatoes, steamed
  • 2 sweet potatoes, steamed
Saute the onion with the celery, spices, and 1 cup water. Add the lentils, corn, and coconut. Cook for a few minutes. Gently combine the couscous and potatoes into the lentil mixture. {I think the key to making sure this dish isn’t mushy, is to cook the major ingredients separately and combine at the end.} Season and enjoy!
Comments are closed.