Our vegan pizza day

Standard
Vegan Pizza Day 2012

Vegan Pizza Day 2012

We had some omnivore friends over for dinner, and it happened to be Vegan Pizza Day. I made two pizzas: one was brushed with herb oil (see below) and then had artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, capers, and white Daiya. The other had a red sauce, pineapple, tomatoes, capers, and white Daiya. The first one was my favorite.

{Both were better than the pizzas I threw together last night. Those had crusts that were way too thick and doughy for my taste.}

I experimented with two ways to make thin crispy crust this time:

For the first one, on the advice of Roberto Martin in Vegan Cooking for Carnivores, I bought a cheap pizza screen. (I thought a pizza screen was a pizza pan with holes in the bottom. I now realize that he probably meant the actual “screen” kind—mine might be more accurately called a “crisper”). I made sure to roll the dough out very thin, about the size of the pan, and then placed it in the pan.

For the second one, I also rolled the dough out super thin, this time slightly larger than my pizza paddle. I then pre-baked the dough on the baking stone for about 10 minutes. After that, I removed it, put the toppings on, and baked it the rest of the way fully dressed.

Both crusts came out pretty crispy. The pizza screen one might have been a little bit crispier, but it was also on the bottom rack. The one on the baking stone took longer to bake, but I think this was mostly due to the thick layer of toppings. So, as it turns out, I didn’t necessarily need to buy the pizza screen/crisper, but it was a little easier to deal with and would be pretty easy to use in the BBQ once the weather gets super hot here.

Herb OilThis was the first day that I’ve spent a little time flipping through Vegan Cooking for Carnivoreswhich I have out from the library. It’s where I got the recipe for herb oil. Fresh rosemary {Trader Joe’s}, basil {farmer’s market}, thyme {lemon thyme from our herb garden}, olive oil, garlic {fresh, from farmer’s market}, salt, and pepper in the Vitamix = yum! Isn’t is a pretty green? There is a ton left-over (another larger jar plus this one), and I’m sure I will be putting it in/on a lot of things over the next few weeks. In general, I’ve cut back on cooking with oils, but I will use the herb oil sparingly for that little extra something in a variety of dishes. I’m already thinking of pasta, sauteed kale…

Comments are closed.