Trying out the Chickpea Crêpe

Standard

I tried a new Robin Robertson recipe tonight {from VegNews Magazine}. Although I’ve used chickpea {garbanzo} flour before for batter in french toast, etc., it’s never occurred to me to try a crêpe. And a quick internet search brings up all kinds of tasty-sounding variations.

Chickpea Crepe

Chickpea Crepe

Crispy Chickpea Crêpe ingredients: chickpea flour, salt, pepper, minced fresh rosemary or basil, water, minced red onion, pitted kalamata olives.

I used basil and capers {instead of olives}. And I forgot about the onions, even though I had plenty available. The verdict: not bad. Hubby happened to come home just as I was trying it—he had a piece and liked it {before he knew it was made out of chickpeas, which he doesn’t usually care for}.

Even though I really like chickpeas, I think things made with chickpea flour have a slight aftertaste. The flour has a really strong taste before cooking, but even after there is still a slight hint of something that you have to get used to. Nevertheless, I’ll try this again. It’s a quick and easy way to put together something filling that’s not made of wheat. {We bake our own bread, and there’s always plenty of dough or baked slices around, and I get tired of it.} It also might work for a breakfast dish.

