Vegan in Israel, our HOME is in trouble, and Forget Sorrow

Standard
Forget Sorrow: An Ancestral Tale, by Belle Yang

Forget Sorrow: An Ancestral Tale, by Belle Yang

Here’s what I did on this beautiful Saturday:

  • Spent 6 hours finishing up the radio show, featuring some great info on the vegan movement in Israel. {And tried not to fall asleep during the last several hours.}
  • Took a nap.
  • Managed to stretch watching a 90-minute video required for school over 4 hours {breaks for food, mostly}. Good video, though, with stunning videography of the world: HOME.
  • Spent zero time outside {sigh}.

Last night, I finished up Forget Sorrow, by Belle Yang, a memoir in the form of a graphic novel, and I highly recommend it. The illustrations are lively, intricate, and expressive, and the story unfolds in a non linear fashion that I wouldn’t have thought would work in this format. I learned a lot about China and how the people there coped with numerous conflicts and wars over the last several generations. For some reason, I can’t find a good image of the hardcover that I have out from the library, but this paperback cover represents her style nicely as well.

One response