We made it to Pdx—and tried Veggie Grill!

Standard

Long day. I dropped the twins off at school this morning then spent 3 hours straight running last-minute errands for the trip, including getting together gift basket items. By the time I showered, packed, and printed a few items, it was past time to go.

Unfortunately, we got here too late to meet up with friends from Vida Vegan Con at one of my favorite food carts (Home Grown Smoker) and another that I’ve wanted to visit (Julie Hasson’s Native BowlJulie is the author of Vegan Diner). But, the family checked into the hotel and then we were able to visit Veggie Grill for the first time (sort of a vegan comfort food / fast food chain). It was great: we ordered a bunch of different burgers and sandwiches so that we could sample a variety. We were so hungry, I forgot to take blog photos until we had decimated most of it. My favorites were the Buffalo Wings and Santa Fe Crispy Chickin’, followed by the All-American Stack. My step-daughter and I both agreed that we like the chickin‘ style better than the veggie-steak, although hubby liked the Chipotle BBQ (made with the veggie-steak) best.

We also ran into Powell’s for about a ½ hour, which is grossly insufficient, and probably the only time I’ll have to go there all weekend.

It’s already late, everybody else is asleep or getting there quickly, and I have to get together with my VegNet / ATV buddy at the crack of dawn to get stuff together for our table. Tomorrow is going to be another long one.

One response