Reuben-ish Caesar Chavez Dressing Sandwich inspired by Appetite for Reduction

Standard
Appetite for Reduction, Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Finally got my hands on Appetite for Reduction from the library! Since I had soy curls and rye bread on hand, I was craving a Reuben sandwich today. I found this dressing recipe and mixed it up in the Vitamix, and then used it to dress my soy curls on grilled rye. The only thing I was really missing was sauerkraut.



Caesar Chavez Dressing

  • 2 T chopped shallot {I used 2 cloves garlic}
  • 2 T cashew pieces
  • 1 T tahini {I just threw in about ½ tsp sesame seeds}
  • 1 T miso
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 T freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 T capers with brine {I ♥ capers}
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • {I also added 1/2 of an extra spicy dill pickle. My hubby brought these Baumgardner spicy hot dill pickles home one day and nobody has finished them because they are just too spicy to eat very much of at one time.}

The Portobello Reuben sandwich recipe in Appetite for Reduction suggested using this sauce plus 1 tsp ketchup, so that’s what I did. It was tangy and tasty. Of course, by grilling the bread in Earth Balance, it was not exactly a low-fat recipe, but it sure was good.